A Realm Beyond Procrastination

Throughout the week I make a note of what I’ve achieved, partially to help motivate me and partially so I remember what to write about on here. This is what I have for this week:

It's going well… #phd #thesis

A post shared by Emma (@emma_spud) on

 

Since writing my last post and until yesterday morning, I did nothing. I have no conception of where that time went. I didn’t chain-watch TV programmes, which is something I sometimes loose a week to; I didn’t read a new novel, I didn’t get on a train and visit friends. I have no idea what happened. I’m going to assume it involved twitter and staring moodily at the Judith Butler book I needed to read.

What I did do, once, however, was go to the gym. Like I said I would in my last post. There was a small incident in which I went blind for about five minutes and had to sit on the floor. I didn’t think much of it, I assumed it was my asthma or my blood pressure or something playing up and made my way home. It turns out, if you tell your parents on the phone later that night that you went blind, and ha ha, how embarrassing, they’ll freak out and demand that you go to the doctor. It turns out, if you rock up to the doctor the next day and tell him what happened he’ll stare at you wide-eyed and ask why you didn’t go immediately to A&E. Then he’ll check you for a stroke and heart defects and ultimately decide that it was probably your blood pressure or a migraine. It’s fine. I’ll know better next time.

As I was up so disgustingly early see the doctor yesterday I managed to get quite a lot of reading done. I blasted through half of Butler’s Undoing Gender (bearing in mind it once took me a week to read the intro) and typed up the most pertinent quotes. I got up at the same time this morning, went for a lovely walk in the sun, THE SUN, and now I’m on the last couple of chapters. I haven’t written anything though. I need to bash out some words over the next few days and send them to my supervisors on Thursday.

Something else I discovered yesterday was another handy little app (I mentioned a couple that I use in one of my previous posts). It’s called ‘Pomodrone’, which is a timer for the ‘pomodoro technique‘ in which you work solidly and without distraction for 25 minutes and then have a 5 minute break to rabidly check your social media, if you’re anything like me. The app keeps track of how many ‘pomodori’ you’ve done so you can tell how long you’ve actually been properly working that day. It’s helped keep me focussed and also to realise how easily distracted I am: ‘oh, I’ll just quickly respond to this text’, ‘I’ll just check facebook/twitter/tumblr/instagram’, ‘I wonder how much that book is on amazon?’, ‘I should look up some motivational pins on pinterest to help get me in the studying mood’. I didn’t realise how much time these things actually take up during my working hours. So, yes, pomodoro – very effective. Now I just need to take the appropriate 5 minute breaks between sessions rather than the twenty minutes I’m actually taking.

This week’s word count: 0
Gym sessions: one half.

8 thoughts on “A Realm Beyond Procrastination

  1. Excellent blog as standard. I think that the pomodrone app may come to define my otherwise static life for weeks to come. Trying to write an essay and short story and have so far managed to buy a halloumi cheese making kit and a new windscreen wiper. Ever onwards and backwards

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At least you know where your time has gone! And those are both very practical and important purchases. Definitely have a bash at pomodoro. Sometimes I look at how long I have left thinking it’ll be a minute, and it’ll be 15, apparently without it I only work for ten minutes at a time, no wonder I’m getting nothing done! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

