A Colourful Balancing Act

I’ve actually had a really good week. This might be the first time I’ve said that on this blog. I really feel like something’s clicked. This week I’ve written about 2,500 words and finished colour-coding my N-Z folder. I’m going to start on the larger A-M one today.

This week started pretty slowly – I was determined to achieve something so I opened one of my favourite thesis books and started writing bullet-points about the sections I’d post-it noted as important. The first day I naively wanted to write 2000 words, because if nothing else I’m blithely optimistic about my ability to sit still and concentrate. I think I clocked about 400 words that day. The next day I decided to use the pomodoro method, which I first spoke about here, in which you work solidly and without distraction for a timed 25 minutes, and then have a five minute break. It always works for me, I don’t know why I keep forgetting that. I think it’s out of some weird belief that I shouldn’t need to use it. I used to be able to sit and research for hours at a time and be perfectly happy; I don’t know when that changed.

After that first day I decided that a 500 word a day target was slightly more realistic. It was, and on my writing days I managed to achieve or surpass it, which made me feel a bit more confident. On non-writing days, I’ve been colour-coding. I very briefly started it just after I’d alphabetised my folders, and then promptly ignored it in favour of doing literally anything else. This week, with my shiny new pills and motivation, I blasted through the smaller of the two folders and have really gotten into the swing of it. A few weeks ago I settled on some likely chapter headings, I’ve assigned each chapter a colour and now I’m reading through all of my notes and post-it-ing according to theme. I’m hoping it’ll make my writing a lot faster, as I can just flick through my notes really quickly and find the most pertinent information. I’m wishing I’d been this organised from the start, but it took me ages to narrow in on what my chapters were going to be.

This week I also made myself a standing-desk:

It’s so much better for my back and it’s less depressing than being forced to sit hunched over for hours at a time. I bought an inflatable balance pad online – it means that you constantly readjust your posture, which is good for all of your muscles and spine. I think that’s had something to do with my positivity this week; it’s kind of fun wiggling around while you’re working.

Non-work-wise, on I spent a few hours getting stabbed with needles. But who can begrudge that when you end up with something as beautiful as this?

I’m determined to keep the motivation up this week too. I finally feel as though I’m getting somewhere.

Leave a Reply

