Bruised Clocks and Time Spinning By

I think I need to go back to filling out my black board with the week’s achievements. Time is moving so fast that I can barely keep up. Telling one week’s activites from the next is quite a struggle. It seems like it was only last week that I went to see Mona Eltahawy, which my friend wrote a brilliant review for, but in reality, it was almost a month ago. This week I went to see the brilliant Helen Macdonald, author of H is for Hawk. She was wonderfully eloquent and down to earth – the interview was hosted by an ornithologist, which meant that it was a rather bird-y evening, but she managed to bring it back to the book fairly regularly.

I’ve also been working on my chapter, which I think is vaguely starting to take shape. I feel like I’ve been working on it since I started the PhD. It’s the only chapter that I’ve known from the beginning would exist. I’ve found that in the last year I seem to have moved from being fairly good at close reading and picking apart texts, to being really theory heavy. It’s been a bit of a struggle to get back to the text, unravelling the meaning and then reading it using a trans theoretical stand point. I think I might be getting there though. Maybe. I’m sure I will have changed my mind by this evening.

I’ve been working on a book that I used in my Masters dissertation and I’m finding it interesting how different my reading is now. Well, not necessarily different, but certainly more complex. I haven’t really had a yardstick with which to measure my intellectual progress until now. It’s easy enough to say, well I’ve written this many words and this conference paper – that’s just target setting and achievement. But seeing how your thinking has actually developed is much harder to judge, and I think ultimately more satisfying. Of course, when I hand the chapter in I might get a short, sharp reality check, but we’ll see.

The chapter is due in at the end of the month, ready for a discussion a couple of weeks later with both of my supervisors. I then need to move immediately onto the next chapter, which I haven’t even vaguely started thinking about yet. I keep on finding myself so grateful that I took the time to colour code all of my notes according to chapter. It means I can just flick through both of my folders and find the most pertinent information.

This week I’ve also been teaching, organising abstracts for a collection I’m editing with some other academics, and writing a short story to submit to Severine Lit. I also wasted a day getting a new tattoo, which is excellent (but is currently very bruised).

Got some colours happening #tattoo #bruise #ink #fresh #clock #filigree #girlswithtattoos

A post shared by Emma (@emma_spud) on

This week I’m marking essays and trying to finish the chapter. I’m also speaking to some people thinking about doing a PhD for our careers service. No idea what I’m going to say yet…

3 thoughts on “Bruised Clocks and Time Spinning By

  1. You’ve done loads, you smart cookie. I’m experiencing similar in terms of reading texts and seeing how far my thinking’s come, mostly in the sense I’m disagreeing with them where as I’d have blindly taken it all in before.

    Thanks for the link to my review; I’m still thinking about what Eltahawy had to say. Structural inequality and listening to others’ lived experience is the theme of my month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

